Vibrant Communities Steering Committee hard at work

By December 4, 2015Uncategorized

The 32-member Steering Committee for the Vibrant Communities initiative kicked off their effort in October and November with this initial planning meetings. The group will lead the process from start to finish, and represent a wide range of interests from across our county. The group is made up of community leaders, elected officials, and residents. It was formed to be a representative body to provide a voice to the county’s many diverse interests. The Steering Committee is charged with guiding the process and the substance of the recommendations. They’ll meet throughout the process and provide guidance and direction to each community as it puts together its plan.

The Vibrant Communities Steering Committee


Dallas Bergl, Inova FCU

Gina Leichty, Eyedart Creative Studio


Grace Bonewitz, Middlebury Chamber of Commerce

Mark Brinson, City of Goshen

Jeff Burbrink, Purdue Extension

David Daugherty, Goshen Chamber

Arvis Dawson, Resident

Mark Dobson, EDC of Elkhart County

Bruce Eldridge, Millersburg Water/Economic Development

David Foutz, Elkhart County Council

Chris Godlewski, Elkhart County Planning & Development

Lisa Guedea Carreno, Elkhart Public Library

Kyle Hannon, Greater Elkhart Chamber of Commerce

Robert Haworth, Elkhart Community Schools

Curtis Hill, Elkhart County Prosecutor

Mike Huber, ECCVB

Phil Jenkins, City of Nappanee

Allan Kauffman, Mayor – City of Goshen

Eric Kanagy, RedPost

Faiz Khoja, STIFEL – The Elkhart Group

Levi King, King Corporation

Bill Lavery, Whisler & Lavery

Diana Lawson, ECCVB

John Leavitt, Salem Insurance

Launa Leftwich, Goshen College

Mary Ann Lienhart-Cross, Purdue Extension

Phil Metzler, Goshen

Tim Neese, Mayor of Elkhart

Shannon Oakes, The Community Foundation of Elkhart County

Amish Shah, Kem Krest

Jill Sigsbee, The Community Foundation of Elkhart County

Jeremy Stutsman, Mayor of Goshen

James Turnwald, MACOG

Suzanne Weirick, Resident

Crystal Welsh, City of Elkhart

Mike Yoder, Elkhart County Commissioner

John Yoder, Friends of the Pumpkinvine

Rick Zeeff, Blue Zones Project

One Comment

  • Looks like the Steering Committee is missing an essential driving force in the development, health, and appeal of communities everywhere – A leading member of the real estate profession. It’s difficult to imagine how your work can be well-focused or practical without the input of someone involved in the marketing of residential real estate.

Leave a Reply